Thursday, 24th
 
 
  08:45 Registration

 
  09:30 Opening
José L. Encarnação
Fraunhofer Institute for Computer Graphics

 
  09:45 Keynote: Embodied Agents and Meaningful Motion
Norman I. Badler
Computer and Information Science Department, University of Pennsylvania
badler@seas.upenn.edu


 
  11:00 Coffee Break

 
  11:30 Session I: Interactive Storytelling
Session Chair: Ulrike Spierling

 
    Natural Language Understanding in Façade: Surface-text Processing
Michael Mateas¹, Andrew Stern²
¹ College of Computing and LCC, Georgia Tech, michaelm@cc.gatech.edu
² InteractiveStory.net, andrew@interactivestory.net


 
    Stepping into the interactive Drama
Nicolas Szilas
LINC, University of Paris 8, France
n.szilas@iut.univ-paris8.fr


 
    From Another Point of View: Art-E-Fact
Ido Iurgel
Digital Storytelling Department, ZGDV e.V. Darmstadt
Ido.Iurgel@zgdv.de


 
  13:00 Lunch

 
  14:00 Session II: Interactive Storytelling
Session Chair: Oliver Schneider

 
    1, 2, 3 . Action! Directing of Real Actors and Virtual Characters
Isabel Machado¹, Paul Brna², Ana Paiva³
¹ ISCTE, University of Leeds & INESC-ID, Isabel.Machado@inesc-id.pt
² School of Informatics, Northumbria University, Paul.Brna@unn.ac.uk
³ IST & INESC-ID, Ana.Paiva@inesc-id.pt


 
    Object Oriented Prompted Play (O2P2): A Pragmatic Approach to Interactive Narrative
Daniel Roberts¹, Mark Wright²
EdVEC (Edinburgh Virtual Environment Centre), The University of Edinburgh
¹ Daniel.Roberts@ed.ac.uk
² Mark.Wrightg@ed.ac.uk


 
    Transferring Game Mastering Laws to Interactive Digital Storytelling
Federico Peinado¹, Pablo Gervás²
Dep. Sistemas Informáticos y Programación Universidad Complutense de Madrid,
¹ fpeinado@fdi.ucm.es
² pgervas@sip.ucm.es


 
    Narrativity of User Experience: Presence as Transportation in IVE based Narrative Systems
Shachindra Nath
Central Saint Martins College of Art & Design
s.nath@synesis.tv


 
    Integrated decision points for interactive movies
Gabriela Tully and Susan Turner
School of Computing, Napier University, Edinburgh
{g.tully, s.turner}@napier.ac.uk


 
  14:00 Virtual Human Network of Excellence
(Closed Participant Group)

 
       
  16:00 Coffee Break

 
  16:30 Session III: Virtual Human
Session Chair: Stefan Gbel

 
    Autonomous Virtual Actors
Stephane Sanchez¹ ², Oliver Balet², Yves Duthen¹, Herve Luga¹
¹ Université Toulouse 1/IRIT, {Luga, Duthen}@irit.fr
² Virtual Reality Department, C-S, {Stephane.Sanchez, Olivier.Balet}@c-s.fr


 
    Interactive Storytelling and Computer Graphics for the Virtual Human Platform
Stefan Göbel¹, Oliver Schneider¹, Ido Iurgel¹, Christian Knöpfle², Alexander Rettig²,
¹ ZGDV Darmstadt e.V., Digital Storytelling Department, {Stefan.Goebel, Oliver.Schneider, Axel.Feix, Ido.Iurgel}@zgdv.de
² Fraunhofer IGD, Department Virtual & Augmented Reality, Darmstadt, {Christian.Knoepfle, Alexander.Rettig}@igd.fraunhofer.de


 
    Evaluation of a Virtual Narrator’s Expressiveness in Terms of Suspense Signaling
Norbert Braun, Thomas Rieger
GRIS, Informatik, TU-Darmstadt
{Nbraun, Rieger}@GRIS.Informatik.TU-Darmstadt.de


 
    Emotional Characters for Automatic Plot Creation
Marië Theune, Sander Rensen, Rieks op den Akker, Dirk Heylen, Aanton Nijholt
University of Twente,
{theune, rensen, infrieks, heylen, anijholt}@cs.utwente.nl


 
  18:00 Social Event: Darmstadt Sightseeing

 
  20:00 Conference Dinner